The Carolina Hotel
  • Share

The Carolina Hotel


The Carolina Hotel opened its doors on January 1st, 1901, to visitors from the Northeast seeking refuge from the bitter cold.
When it was opened, it featured the best conveniences available at the time, including electric lighting, steam heating, and velvet-carpeted elevators. This lovely location was built by James Walker Tufts to meet the resort’s continuously increasing demand for lodging when it opened its doors in 1895. The AAA Four Diamond Carolina Hotel, known as the “Queen of the South,” has long served as Pinehurst’s social hub and one of its most iconic buildings. Visitors will notice that there are fascinating tales about the resort and its lengthy history of championship golf all along the vast hallways.

Venue Location + Transportation


80 Carolina Vista Drive,
Village of Pinehurst, North Carolina 28374